top of page

Kent Press & Broadcast Awards 2019


We received 149 entries for the Kent Press & Broadcast Awards 2019 - the most we've ever had. After considering each individual entry, the panel of judges decided on the results which were announced at an awards ceremony on Friday 12 July at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence, Canterbury. 

Kent Media Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Port of Dover

Winner – kmfm news

Highly Commended – KMTV


  • ITV Meridian

  • Kent Live

Port of Dover.jpg
Kent Photographer of the Year, sponsored by Brachers

Winner – Matthew Walker, freelance

Highly Commended – Daisy Watson, 'cene magazine


  • Frank Leppard, Kent Live/Isle of Thanet Gazette

  • John Horton, The Isle of Thanet News

Kent Design(er) of the Year, sponsored by The Historic Dockyard Chatham

Winner – Dave Hobday, Folkestone & Hythe Express, Gravesend Messenger

Highly Commended – 'cene magazine


  • Bygone Kent

  • Mark Eastham, Kent Messenger/Kentish Gazette/What's On

Best Use of Digital Media, sponsored by Eurotunnel


Highly Commended – Lauren McDougall, Kent Live


  • Stuart Maisner, BBC South East

  • 'cene magazine

The Neil Bell Kent Sports Journalist of the Year, supported by Kent Cricket


Winner – Ben Watts, BBC Radio Kent

Highly Commended – Steve Tervet, Gravesend Messenger


  • Juliette Parkin, BBC South East

  • Stephen Page, Kent & Sussex Courier/Kent Live

Kent Cricket Logo RGB.jpg
Kent Feature Journalist of the Year, sponsored by MHA MacIntyre Hudson


Winner – Sam Supple, BBC South East

Highly Commended – Ben Ashton, Kent Live


  • Derek Johnson, ITV Meridian

  • Marijke Hall, Kentish Gazette Series

JPEG MHA MH logo Chartered  -
Kent Columnist of the Year, sponsored by Kent Invicta Chamber


Winner – Rachel Dixon, Medway Messenger

Highly Commended – Ed McConnell, Medway Messenger, Gravesend and Dartford Messengers


  • Nikki White, Medway Messenger

  • Chris Hunter, Gravesend and Dartford Messengers

Kent Invicta Chamber of Commerce.jpg
Kent New Journalist of the Year, sponsored by EKC Group


Winner – Will Rider, Kent & Sussex Courier

Highly Commended – Sean Doherty, Kent Live


  • Katie Boyden, Kent Live

  • Phil Wellbrook, KMTV

Kent Broadcast Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Westwood Cross


Winner – Colin Campbell, BBC South East

Highly Commended – Lauren Moss, BBC South East


  • Poppy Jeffery, KMTV

  • Louisa Britton, KMTV

WWX Logo.jpg
Kent Print Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Benenden Hospital


Winner – Sean Axtell, Kentish Express/Folkestone & Hythe Express

Highly Commended – Katie Boyden, Isle of Thanet Gazette


  • Chloe Holmwood, Sheerness Times Guardian/Sittingbourne News Extra

  • Amy Nickalls, Medway Messenger

Commitment to the Community, sponsored by Saga

Winner (individual) – John Nurden, Sheerness Times Guardian

Winner (team) – Thanet Extra, Thanet Community Awards



  • Hythe Life

  • Kent Messenger

SAGA Keep Doing Blue Logo CMYK.jpg
Kent News Website of the Year, sponsored by LKM Recycling

Winner – KentOnline

Highly Commended – Kent Live


  • The Isle of Thanet News

Kent Magazine of the Year, sponsored by Stagecoach South East

Winner – 'cene magazine

Highly Commended – Isle Magazine


  • Bygone Kent

  • Sevenoaks Sports

Stagecoach SE CAPS.jpg
Kent Newspaper of the Year, sponsored by Southeastern

Winner – Kentish Gazette

Highly Commended – Medway Messenger

Highly Commended – The Isle of Thanet News


  • Kent Messenger

Southeastern for web.jpg
Kent Programme of the Year, sponsored by Digitom Video Production


Winner – BBC South East Today

Highly Commended – Kent Cooks (KMTV)


  • ITV News Meridian

  • KM Football Podcast

Digitom 2019.png

Photos & film from the ceremony

Thanks to Tim Stubbings for the photographs taken at the 2019 #KPBA ceremony.
Watch the highlights film below to see all the winners and get a taste of the ceremony. Thanks to sponsor Digitom Video Production for filming and producing the video.
Digitom 2019.png
bottom of page