top of page

Kent Press & Broadcast Awards 2021


We reduced the number of categories this year due to the ongoing pandemic but still received 70 entries for the Kent Press & Broadcast Awards 2021. After considering each individual entry, the panel of judges met (via Zoom, obviously) to decide the winners, which are listed below. Due to Covid-19, this year's ceremony was held virtually on Friday 10 September. 

Kent Broadcast Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Eurotunnel

Winner – Zoie O’Brien, BBC South East 

Highly Commended – Claire Starr, BBC South East


  • Amanda Akass, BBC South East

  • Josie Hannett, BBC South East

Kent Columnist of the Year, sponsored by Kent Invicta Chamber of Commerce

Winner – Seb Reilly, The Isle of Thanet News

Highly Commended – Simon Finlay, Downs Mail


  • Jane Wenham-Jones, The Isle of Thanet News

  • Melissa Todd, The Isle of Thanet News

Kent Invicta Chamber of Commerce.jpg
Kent Designer of the Year

Winner – Ashley Austen, KM Media Group

Highly Commended – Jonathan Brewer, BBC South East


  • MMM Magazine

  • Paul Acres, KM Media Group

Kent Feature Journalist of the Year (Broadcast), sponsored by Digitom Video Production​​

Winner – Colin Campbell, BBC South East

Highly Commended – Derek Johnson, ITV Meridian


  • Joe Coshan, KMTV

  • Phil Wellbrook, KMTV

Digitom 2019.png
Kent Feature Journalist of the Year (Print), sponsored by MHA MacIntyre Hudson​​

Winner – Lydia Chantler-Hicks, Kentish Gazette

Highly Commended – Jack Dyson, Kentish Gazette


  • Rhys Griffiths, Kent Messenger / KentOnline

  • Seb Reilly, Broadstairs Beacon 

Kent New Journalist of the Year, sponsored by EKC Group


Winner – Katya Fowler, KMTV

Highly Commended – Tommaso Dimiddio, KMTV 


  • Ollie Collins, KMTV

  • Sean Delaney, Dartford Messenger / Gravesend Messenger 

Kent Print Journalist of the Yearsponsored by Southeastern

Winner – Jack Dyson, Kentish Gazette

Highly Commended – Katie Heslop, Kent Messenger 


  • Lydia Chantler-Hicks, Kentish Gazette

  • Marijke Hall, Thanet Extra

The Neil Bell Kent Sports Journalist of the Year, supported by Kent Cricket

Winner – Juliette Parkin, BBC South East 

Highly Commended – Ollie Collins, KMTV 


  • Ben Watts, BBC Radio Kent

  • Joe Coshan, KMTV

Kent Cricket Logo 2019 Blue.png
The 2020 Award, sponsored by BAE Systems


Winner – The Isle of Thanet News 

Highly Commended – Downs Mail


  • KMTV

  • MMM Magazine - NHS edition

BAE Systems.png

Watch the 2021 ceremony again

Due to the ongoing pandemic, we felt it was safer to hold another virtual ceremony in 2021 and then present the winners with their trophies afterwards. The good news is you can watch the ceremony again below. 

You can watch the winners receive their trophies in the film below. Thanks to sponsor Digitom Video Production for filming and producing the video.

bottom of page