Kent Press & Broadcast Awards Finalists


We received 149 entries for the Kent Press & Broadcast Awards 2019 - the most we've ever had. After considering each individual entry, the panel of judges met to decide the finalists, which are listed below. 


Every finalist will be invited to the awards ceremony that takes place on Friday 12 July at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence, Canterbury. 

Best Use of Digital Media, sponsored by Eurotunnel

  • 'cene magazine

  • KentOnline

  • Lauren MacDougall, Kent Live

  • Stuart Maisner, BBC South East

Kent Broadcast Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Westwood Cross

  • Colin Campbell, BBC South East

  • Lauren Moss, BBC South East 

  • Louisa Britton, KMTV

  • Poppy Jeffery, KMTV

Kent Columnist of the Year, sponsored by Kent Invicta Chamber

  • Chris Hunter, Gravesend and Dartford Messengers

  • Ed McConnell, Medway, Gravesend and Dartford Messengers 

  • Nikki White, Medway Messenger

  • Rachel Dixon, Medway Messenger

Kent Design/er of the Year, sponsored by The Historic Dockyard Chatham

  • Bygone Kent

  • ‘cene magazine

  • Dave Hobday, Folkestone & Hythe Express / Gravesend Messenger

  • Mark Eastham, Kent Messenger / Kentish Gazette / What's On

Kent Feature Journalist of the Year, sponsored by MHA MacIntyre Hudson​​
  • Ben Ashton, Kent Live

  • Derek Johnson, ITV Meridian

  • Marijke Hall, Kentish Gazette Series

  • Samuel Supple, BBC South East 

Commitment to the Community, sponsored by Saga


  • Hythe Life

  • John Nurden, Sheerness Times Guardian

  • Kent Messenger

  • Thanet Community Awards (Thanet Extra)

Kent Magazine of the Year, sponsored by Stagecoach South East
  • Bygone Kent

  • ‘cene magazine

  • Isle Magazine

  • Sevenoaks Sports

Stagecoach SE CAPS.jpg
Kent New Journalist of the Year, sponsored by EKC Group


  • Katie Boyden, Kent Live

  • Phil Wellbrook, KMTV

  • Sean Doherty, Kent Live

  • Will Rider, Kent & Sussex Courier

Kent News Website of the Year, sponsored by LKM Recycling


  • Kent Live

  • KentOnline

  • The Isle of Thanet News

Kent Newspaper of the Year, sponsored by Southeastern

  • Kentish Gazette

  • Kent Messenger

  • Medway Messenger

  • The Isle of Thanet News

Kent Photographer of the Year, sponsored by Brachers
  • Daisy Watson, 'cene magazine

  • Frank Leppard, Kent Live / Isle of Thanet Gazette

  • John Horton, The Isle of Thanet News

  • Matt Walker, Freelance 

Kent Print Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Benenden Hospital Trust 

  • Amy Nickalls, Medway Messenger

  • Chloe Holmwood, Sheerness Times Guardian / Sittingbourne News Extra

  • Katie Boyden, Isle of Thanet Gazette

  • Sean Axtell, Kentish Express / Folkestone & Hythe Express

Kent Programme of the Year, sponsored by Digitom Video Production

  • BBC South East Today

  • Kent Cooks (KMTV)

  • KM Football Podcast

  • ITV News Meridian

Digitom 2019.png
The Neil Bell Kent Sports Journalist of the Year, supported by Kent Cricket
  • Ben Watts, BBC Radio Kent

  • Juliette Parkin, BBC South East

  • Stephen Page, Kent & Sussex Courier / Kent Live

  • Steve Tervet, Gravesend Messenger

Kent Media Innvovation of the Year, sponsored by Port of Dover


  • ITV Meridian

  • Kent Live

  • kmfm news

  • KMTV


01892 513033



Kent Press & Broadcast Awards

C/O Maxim

Grosvenor Lodge

72 Grosvenor Rd

Tunbridge Wells

Kent  TN1 2AS 


  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • LinkedIn Clean

© 2020 Maxim PR & Marketing Ltd. Maxim PR & Marketing Ltd is registered in England at 6 Kings Row, Armstrong Road, Maidstone, Kent, ME15 6AQ